The Black Book: An Inspector Rebus Novel (Inspector Rebus Novels #5) (Paperback)

The Black Book: An Inspector Rebus Novel (Inspector Rebus Novels #5) By Ian Rankin Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 5 in the Inspector Rebus Novels series.


The Sunday Telegraph raves, "No one captures the noirish side of the city as well as Rankin," and The Black Book is one of his best.

Five years ago, a mysterious fire burned Edinburgh's seed Central Hotel to ashes. Long-forgotten and unsolved, the case reappears when a charred body--with a bullet in its head--is found amongst the ruins. Inspector John Rebus knows that his superiors would rather he let sleeping dogs lie. He knows that part of the answer lies somewhere in a cryptic black notebook. And he knows that to solve the case, he'll have to peel back layer upon layer of unspeakable secrets to arrive at the truth. . .

About the Author

Ian Rankin is the worldwide #1 bestselling writer of the Inspector Rebus books, including Knots and Crosses, Hide and Seek, Let It Bleed, Black and Blue, Set in Darkness, Resurrection Men, A Question of Blood, The Falls and Exit Music. He is also the author of The Complaints and Doors Open.  He has won an Edgar Award, a Gold Dagger for fiction, a Diamond Dagger for career excellence, and the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and received the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for his contributions to literature. He graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982. He lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

Praise For…

“With this latest action-packed adventure of Edinburgh's Inspector John Rebus, Rankin steps into the company of accomplished fellow British procedural writers John Harvey and Peter Turnbull.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Thick and zesty as a bottomless bowl of Scotch broth. ...Rebus ... shines right down to the nasty surprise on the last page.” —Kirkus Reviews

“No one captures the noirish side of the city as well as Rankin.” —Sunday Telegraph

“Ian Rankin joins the elite of British crime writing.” —Marcel Berlins, The Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312565640
ISBN-10: 031256564X
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: August 4th, 2009
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Inspector Rebus Novels